Caterpillar’s governance structure provides leadership, accountability and transparency to the management of the company and its businesses. Our corporate governance framework serves the interests of shareholders with the highest standards of responsibility, integrity and commitment to enhance shareholder value over the long term. These standards are developed and implemented by our board of directors and the Executive Office.


Board of Directors

Kelly A. Ayotte
Former U.S. Senator
Representing New Hampshire

David L. Calhoun
President and CEO
The Boeing Company

Daniel M. Dickinson
Managing Partner
HCI Equity Partners

James C. Fish, Jr.
President and CEO
Waste Management, Inc.

Gerald Johnson
Executive Vice President,
Global Manufacturing & Sustainability
General Motors Company

David W. MacLennan
Executive Chair and former CEO
Cargill, Inc.

Judith F. Marks
Chair of Board, CEO and President
Otis Worldwide Corporation

Debra L. Reed-Klages
Former Chairman and CEO
Sempra Energy

Edward B. Rust, Jr.
Retired Chairman and CEO
State Farm Mutual Automobile
Insurance Company

Susan C. Schwab
Professor Emerita at the
University of Maryland School
of Public Policy and Former
U.S. Trade Representative

D. James Umpleby III
Chairman and CEO
Caterpillar Inc.

Rayford Wilkins, Jr.
Former CEO
Diversified Businesses at AT&T Inc.

Executive Officers

Chairman and CEO
D. James Umpleby III

Group Presidents
Joseph E. Creed
Bob De Lange
Anthony D. Fassino
Denise C. Johnson

Chief Financial Officer
Andrew R.J. Bonfield

Chief Legal Officer and General Counsel
Suzette M. Long

Chief Human Resources Officer
Cheryl H. Johnson

Learn more about our corporate governance framework and voting on matters for the annual meeting in Caterpillar’s Proxy Statement:


As of April 1, 2023

Download 2022 Annual Report

Download PDF